Daydreams & Distractions | Banned

It’s been an interesting 24 hours. Between the time that I published the first book of Daydreams & Distractions and now, the book was delisted by all the sellers—censored, banned. Those sellers being:

Apple
Inktera
Tolino
Kobo
Barnes & Noble

So, to date, no outlet will sell my book. I might have expected this but am also somewhat surprised. There are no photos or illustrations in the book, so the reason for the book’s being banned rests entirely with its content. So what is the content of these stories? They don’t endorse violence. No child is portrayed in a sexual situation. There’s no encouragement to commit crimes. The only objection, to use Apple’s phrase, must be their “excessively objectionable or crude content”. There’s enough discretion in that proviso to write a novel. But what might all these sellers have objected to? Here’s the table of contents for the first book:

Let Us be Foul
Scarecrow
Words
The Supplicant
Stung
Vicky’s Secret
Out of the Blue
All Day Long
Tentacle
Possessive Tense
Grind
Swinging
Leda & the Swan
The Blues Man’s Woman
Droit de Cuissage
The Bet
Cinderella
Identities
Kisses
Ode to a Urinal
A Good Girl
Angelus
The Ecstasy of the Masculine & Feminine
Waiting for the Ferry
Lavinia’s List of Sexy Things   

The scarecrow, of all the stories, might have been enough to scare off the distributors. The story is a sort of dark fable, touching on horror, about a woman tied like a scarecrow to a post, meant to act as a decoy for the were-crows. The brief story is metaphorical, meant to touch on deeper truths in the way women are treated and come to knowledge, but I suppose it could be read as rape/bestaility. The writer dare not use Aesopian symbolism in erotic stories.

The Supplicant is a little story as old as Boccaccio and a send up of that whole era in erotica—but could its portrayal of a Christian Priest and innocent femme fatale have been too much?

Vicky’s Secret may have touched too close to home. The story, however, is a wink and nod at Victoria’s Secret,  when the catalog used to be the next best thing to a Hustler or Playboy Magazine. How many masturbated to those pages?

I consider The Blues Man’s Woman to be the best erotic story I’ve ever written, and possibly the least explicit.

Droit de Cuissage is a Victorian send up.

And really, the rest of the stories are nothing more than erotic fantasies. They’re not violent or degrading. In fact, most of them have elements of humor and are sex positive, if explicit.

And there you have it. Banned.

Unless and until Paypal blocks the sale of my book, you can still purchase it through the blog. Decide for yourselves whether the book deserves to be banned.

William Crimson | October 19 2017

Latest Comments

  1. Stephanie says:

    The Blues Man’s Woman is one of my favorites from this book :) And I am beyond confused as to why your book has been banned. I have a lot more to say, but I need some more time to wrap my head around this.

  2. lil bird says:

    I’m often and generally baffled by which expressions of sexuality are deemed acceptable (often I’m not sure who these are good for, anyway) and which are suppressed (in ways that aren’t good to people) and why things have to be so shitty. Sorry, I’m still catching up on your discussions, but would like to send wishes of good faith your way.

    • willcrimson says:

      Baffles me too At one point yesterday I felt like quitting altogether. But I can’t do that. If I had had my way, I would have been a great musician, but we don’t get to choose our gifts. Mine, alas, is to be the Hans Christian Andersen of erotica.

      Feh.

      We have to be who we are or die trying I suppose. The only alternative is to die not trying. The end’s the same. :)

  3. Anonymous says:

    Will, the answer is obvious. “Urinal” is the culprit. Pee jokes are banned after age five.

    Sorry to hear this news. What about Amazon?

    • willcrimson says:

      Thanks Anon. What’s funny is I had that thought. Ode to a Urinal? Nope. That’s just crude. Apple asks itself: What would our Chinese immigrant slave-laborers think if we published something like that?

  4. Joe "Bondi" Beach says:

    Will, how do I buy through the blog? Can barely see a thing on this tiny keyboard anyway. Cheers, JBB

    On Thursday, October 19, 2017, The Erotic Writer wrote:

    > willcrimson posted: “It’s been an interesting 24 hours. Between the time > that I published the first book of Daydreams & Distractions and now, the > book was delisted by all the sellers—censored, banned. Those sellers being: > Apple Inktera Tolino Kobo Barnes & Noble So, t” >

    • willcrimson says:

      I’m working to make this more transparent. I’ll add a page this evening, but you can find it on my Redbud Page if you scroll down. So you know, along with others, you don’t need to enter your home address. I will send you the ebook via the registered email address.

  5. lil bird says:

    Most of the people whose writing about sex, etc. that I began reading have quit. I have ever more empathy for the reasons why, but I want you here and thriving!! It’s important and vital. I will fight and care with you.

    • willcrimson says:

      Thanks lil bird. The stuff that buoys me most is hearing from readers like you. :) Thank you. I started writing because I wasn’t finding what a I wanted to read, but writing them soon turned into the pursuit of a different sort of literature, where the pleasure of the physical and the imagination intersect. I’m guessing many writers quit because they mainly wrote erotica as a sexual outlet, and as their libidos cooled, so did their interest. That’s never been the case with me, or the reason I continue writing erotica.

  6. Aster says:

    Did you tag tentacles anywhere? So Apple doesn’t like monster romance and b&n recently has gone the same way. You should be safe on amazon but you will probably get tagged as adult (not shown in search results) so that only motivated buyers will find you. You might want to consider reshuffling your anthologies to exclude the tentacle series and resubmit as that might get approved by more retailers. Good luck! Anecdotally, the most offensive (imo) story I ever wrote during my hissy fit over retailer censorship has never been blacklisted. Go figure.

    • willcrimson says:

      You know, I don’t think I tagged tentacle. Bestiality is off the table but at Smashwords, at least, a distinction is made between bestiality and sex with mythical creatures. Tentacle, by the way, takes “mythical” as a compliment. But anyway, I’m not too put off at having lost Apple. I really don’t like Apple. I loved them in the 80’s and early 90’s, but under Jobs they lost any claim to ethical standards. While they sanctimoniously posture over erotic literature they venally exploit cheap Chinese factory workers and refuse to re-patriate their profits. I, the erotic writer, would feel tarnished being associated with that company. But I thank you for your insight. You may well be right.

    • Aster says:

      Whoops I told a fib, b&n has not removed all monster romance only the ones tagged (by the author /publisher) at smashwords as rape / sexual slavery. You might want to send a support message to smashwords if you’re not certain why it was rejected, their staff are quite responsive and you don’t want to be delisted for no reason.

Share your thoughts.

