Invisible Lines (Part 14)

Invisible Lines

(14)                  {start with Part 1}

It had been a long sweltering summer, and the bones of the city still radiated warmth even as the night air finally began to cool. The low clouds this Friday night reflected the orange urban light back down, and promised welcome rain, at long last.

The vacant shop-front to the left of Chrysalis now housed an upstart Chai-bar, a sign that the battlefront between Midtown and District may have moved to the next block. The bell on Paul’s door was the same, though, as was the smile on Eejay’s face when Sima stepped in.

“Hi, Mystery Girl,” Eejay said, “Paul said you were coming. Hot date?” Sima had gotten to know Eejay, and Xavier, a bit over the summer, as she became a bit of a fixture at Chrysalis in the late week and weekends. They’d even all four gone out a couple times. Eejay seemed convinced that aside from ‘seeing’ Paul, Sima was getting secret, intimately located tattoos she wouldn’t show anyone. And she was right, in a way.

“Something like,” Sima smiled.

“That you, Sima?” Came Paul’s voice from the studio, “Come on back.”

“Listen to the man, Sugar. I’ve got some supplies to put away, then it’s me and my man all.. weekend… long.” She said each of the last three words with a sway of her hips.

Sima was still laughing as she passed through to the studio. Paul was working. The client was an older man, in his 60’s at least, eyes closed, breathing slow and steady as Paul worked on his back.  As Sima approached he opened his eyes and winked at her.

“Tell me what you think, Missy.”

She walked around to see Paul’s work. He was refreshing an old, faded tattoo of a fighter jet, weapons blazing across his shoulder.

“A6-Intruder, meanest thing in the sky when I flew. And the chicks so dug it.”

“Please do not flirt with my girlfriend, Mr. Randall,” Paul’s voice scolded, but he was smiling.

“Only because you know I can steal her…” Mr. Randall turned to wink at Sima again, and continued to flirt lightheartedly and unashamedly as Paul finished.

“What a nice, dirty old man, Paul,” Sima said as he returned from seeing the client out and locking the shop.

Paul smiled.

“And devotedly married, too. For forty years. He has his aircraft carrier on his chest, but with his wife’s name on it.”

He made as if to lead her toward the back door.

“I know the guys playing at Royal Blues tonight, they’re really good.”

“I don’t feel like going out tonight,” Sima said, smile slipping as she stepped over to the client’s chair. Her voice changed. Needful. Paul heard it.

“Ah. Well. Tell me, love.”

“I want your Thunderbird. Here.” Sima  pulled the bottom of her sweater up, and the waist of her skirt down, baring the skin of her lower abdomen, to just above her mound. Bare skin.

“My thunderb- You’ve shaved!” Paul remarked.

“I needed room for the talons.”

“Mmm. It’s going to be tricky. You’re going to have to be very still.”

“I’ll try”

“It’s going to hurt.”

He’d said almost like a ritual incantation. Like he had with the other two inkless tattoos he’d given her over the spring and summer. The anatomic heart on sternum was a bare trace now even he barely could see, and the multiple star-pattern across the small of her back was nearly as gone. The lotus blossom on her ankle, however, was now a vibrant, gorgeous red.

“I know.”

Paul smiled that smile; her smile, then leaned in and kissed her.

As she scooted back onto the seat, Sima’s leg brushed Paul. He was already hard.

Which was just as well. Sima was soaked as she puled her skirt and panties low enough to expose the work area, but no lower. Not yet.

Equal, opposed anticipation buzzed between them.

They both watched the needle descend to her skin.

~End~

Latest Comments

  1. paul1510 says:

    Raz,
    oh well, all good things must come to an end, and this must be one of your best.
    I will read this again and again.
    I don’t often beg, but please, please, please, publish this, I want it on my Kindle.
    Paul.

    • Monocle says:

      Thank you so much, Paul. It’ll definitely get there. I’ve wind of a couple places, but if not there, I’ll do it as a one-off.

  2. Change My Body...Change My Life says:

    I have never been so enthralled with a story. I have waited for each installment more than impatiently. You have captured the pure essence of erotica in this.

    • Monocle says:

      That’s the highest compliment. Thank you so much for sticking with it. It was pretty harrowing on this end. Heh.

  3. Squeaky says:

    This one is a thing of beauty, Raz.
    Bravo.

    • Monocle says:

      Much appreciated, Squeaky. I had the worst time gauging and judging this story, so reader feedback has been even more precious and valuable than usual throughout the whole process.

  4. mamacrow says:

    yay! *happy dancing* I loves me a happy ending! A real heady blend of real love and affection and connection and sex & pain and all that good stuff! Perfect :D

    and, um, any time you fancy writing a sequel… you know…

    • Monocle says:

      Thanks, mamacrow. I do suppose it is a ‘happy for now’ of a sort. It was an accident, I swear. ;)

      As for a sequel, I’m not sure if I have more story to tell here. But one never says never, I suppose.

  5. dark gracie ® says:

    Great ending. I really enjoyed this story. Thank you.

  6. Deliza Rafferty says:

    I thought part 13 was the end, so what a happy surprise in my inbox this morning! I’m with Paul, PLEASE publish this! Hell, I’ll make your book covers for free…

    Brilliant and dark and beautiful, truly.

    • Monocle says:

      Thank you, Deliza! And a kind offer. We’ll see what comes with this one. I’m sure it needs an edit or five before it gets anywhere.

  7. April says:

    Ok, so I don’t have to eagerly check my inbox for the next installment tomorrow. But I am sad to see it end. I don’t know that you could take it anywhere else, it is really wonderful though. I enjoyed every word.
    April

  8. Lady Lionne says:

    Beautiful, in every way, all of it. Thank you.

  9. kimber says:

    I’ve always been more than a little afraid of needles. Reading this series has sort of…I wouldn’t say “changed” but maybe “altered”, though neither word is quite correct–my perspective. Perhaps the fear could be something else, ultimately? ;)

    That said, now I really want to see someone on a board of needles.

    Thanks for sharing. :)

  10. ximenawrites says:

    This story has stuck with me. The first and most powerful thought that came into my head as I read through it was “Wait – can I ask for that?” Ha.

    The happy ending was a nice. His bending and responding favorable to her need was a beautiful twist. There was no shame in it.

  11. Molly says:

    I rarely read erotica that actually makes my hands stray onto my pants…. I appreciate what I read and enjoy it but a physical reaction is rare for me. THIS, however, have been a delight and revelation to me. I find myself filled with desire and lust and I shall have to take some time to work just what it is the it fires up in me but I do know that it makes me crave the knife and the claw and that sharp stinging pain that comes when it feels like he is peeling my skin away.

    As for the ending… “Equal, opposed anticipation buzzed between them.

    They both watched the needle descend to her skin.”

    This is beautiful, isn’t this what we are, especially those of us who are some sort of D/s or BDSM relationship; equal and opposed combining to feed one another’s needs?!

    Mollyxxx

    • Monocle says:

      Thank you very much, Molly. I’m so glad you enjoyed the story, and I’m very happy it did what it did, to you and for you. And I agree – the equal/opposed bit feels like one of the ideals of that kind of relationship. Two people wanting, and getting vastly different, crucially necessary things from the same action.

  12. My Mental Stream says:

    So this is my first foray into your writing and I am delighted. I got my first tattoo a few weeks ago below my waistband on the right side of my hip at the front so that no one could see it but me. This whole series was utterly brilliant. I connected with both the characters, the inking was a fun little link for me to them, and the story was amazing. I must admit I am rather glad that I did not have to wait for each installment, rather I could read it all in one hit. I shall be spending more time perusing your work and the rest of this blog. You have a new reader in me. MMS

    • Monocle says:

      Thanks so much, MMS! I love and appreciate how this story has resonated in different ways with different readers. I hope you find more at the blog that you’ll like.

  13. dragon says:

    It took me a while to get back to this, but I’m glad I did. I picked it back up with Part 9 and read through to the end. At several points my body chimed in with pleasure. Your words found there way to my cunt. I’m definitely going to read this over and over. BTW – I’ve been thinking about ink since I read Part 1. I don’t think I’d be happy with any particular image on a permanent basis, but I keep finding myself thinking about them.

  14. Madzillah says:

    I devoured this story. I would use a turkey sandwich analogy, but it would have to be one big, gourmet sandwich. My appetite is large, so I am onto your other works.

  15. cille says:

    I’ve read many of your stories. Many of them over and over. This might be my favorite of all. Very beautiful. Thank you.

    • Monocle says:

      Thanks very much, cille. I’ll be unmodest and say it’s one of my favorites as well.
      I’m also very proud to say this story is going to be in the Mammoth Book of Best Erotica 13. Either later this year or early ’15.

  16. theresa says:

    Such a beautiful story of acceptance. Exciting to hear it will be published in an anthology. Congratulations!

  17. FancyPants says:

    That was fantastic! I thought the pacing was spot on. I don’t love needles, but I kept reading because I like your writing style in general. Thank you!

  18. stephaniesubmits says:

    I now have a new favorite from you, Raz :) So many thoughts…this is gorgeous, there is so much authenticity in their voices, the atmosphere/scene setting is nearly photographic, Paul and Sima could have stepped out of my computer screen at any point (at least, that’s what it felt like), I have a literary crush on “scary hot” Paul (damn.), and finally, I want another tattoo! This story is such a triumph, in that it captures pain, fear, shame, longing, love and acceptance and brings all those emotions together in a very real-seeming way. I could go on, but I’m sure you get the point :) Thank you for sharing this.

  19. Monocle says:

    Thanks so much for reading it, Stephanie. I’m glad you liked it.

Share your thoughts.

