hands (senryu page)

Will has again inspired me to something new. In this case something new out of something old. I’ve enjoyed seeing his crafted senryu and haiku these last several days, and have decided to follow suit. The readers here who also follow Microlensing will recognize some of these micropoems, but I’ve decided to try to combine then in small groups -3-4-5-6 at a time, more or less following or related to one theme. I’m calling each such grouping a “page”, with the implication that they will be gathered together in some kind of micropoetic collection of n pages where n is an unknown number. As Will has discussed, many of my Senryu might not pass muster of the formal definition – if Western poetry can ever be said to match Eastern forms, but I’ll use the term as a personal conceit when I think it’s reasonable. -M

hands

div

perfect fit

Hands fitting perfect
in the crooks of bending knees
opening for me.

div

Braille

I never learned Braille
but my fingers read stories
all over your skin.

div

bus

Riding the bus to work
they sit, his hand in her lap.
I see how he moves.

div

broken strands

My love forgives me
the few strands I break
when I grab her hair.

div

cinematic

In the theater
my hand plays out dramatic
scenes under your skirt.

Latest Comments

  1. paul1510 says:

    Raz,
    these are little gems, strangely true to life.
    I am grateful to Will for introducing me to this art form, his enthusiasm opened, for me, another dimension to my understanding of him as a writer.
    I shall be revisiting these pages fairly frequently.
    Paul.

  2. Cammies on the floor says:

    Lovely, and hands are so sensual and don’t get nearly enough attention (much like how the wet spot is not often written about).

  3. Harper Eliot says:

    All lovely. And I really adore that last one; it made me chuckle.

Share your thoughts.

