Next Big Thing…

THE NEXT BIG THING BLOG HOP

What is a blog hop? Basically, it’s a way for readers to discover authors new to them.  We hope you’ll find new-to-you authors whose works you enjoy.  If you’re new to The Erotic Writer, this hop-stop will show you a bit about me (Raziel) and one of my work-in-progress book and links to some other authors you can explore! This particular stop gives you a bonus as well. Even though I’m the ‘stop’, my two co-bloggers Will Crimson and Ximena here a are well worth an extra side trip.

Thanks to fellow author Sommer Marsden for inviting me to participate in this event.  You can click the following link to learn more about Sommer and her work.  Website:  http://sommermarsden.blogspot.com

In this hop, I and my fellow authors, in their respective blogs, have answered ten questions about our book or work-in–progress (giving you a sneak peek).  There’s also some  behind-the-scenes information about how and why we write what we write–the characters, inspirations, plotting and other choices we make. I hope you enjoy it!

Please feel free to comment and share your thoughts and questions. Here is my Next Big Thing! 

neck1: What is the working title of your book?

Blood Tint

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

Several things – I’ve only ever read one vampire story that I really liked – Steven Brust’s Agyar. I mean, I liked Dracula, sort of, out of historical interest, but I never cared for the story. Otherwise, I’ve disliked most of them, especially in the recent decade or so, where they invaded popular culture so thoroughly. I’ve always understood the vampire mystique, and how powerfully erotic the concept can be, but it’s been so beaten to death, and, turned cliché and over-fetishized that I never thought I’d want to try to use them in my own writing. And then I did. I could only write a vampire story if I broke some of the more standard tropes and came up with my own version of them. With the brainstorming help of several other writers, that’s what emerged, and it turned out, a story came with it. So the vampires of Blood Tint aren’t undead, nor are they out to conquer the daylit world, nor do they sparkle. But they are, I think and hope, interesting and human in scale.

3. What genre does your book come under?

If I could choose it would  be something like Contemporary Erotic Literature.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I’m really bad at this. If my mental pictures of the characters don’t call up any specific likeness when I first think of them, I can’t place them onto a known actor’s face. My mental images don’t seem to like being forced into real templates. I’d be interested to know who readers would see in these roles.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

There’s no way I can write this without sounding horribly trite and cliché, but here goes:

Alak and Daciana, companions of centuries, encounter and mutually fall for the artist Neave, who may either turn Alak back into the monster Daciana tamed, or become his path to a completion he’s never known.

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency? The first chapter of the book is published in stand-alone format in Erotic Anthology’s Coming Together: In Vein anthology. Draft versions of the next few chapters are on this blog. The story is not complete yet, but it is my current goal to finish it this year, when it will likely be published by Burning Book Press, an independent publisher.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

So far… Three years and counting. But, as I’ve said, I intend 2013 to be the year this gets done and done.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I wouldn’t dare compare. I don’t read Vampire books, and rarely read ménage stories. Heck, this might even count as a romance of sorts, and I don’t read those either. I’m at a total loss. Hopefully, readers will be able to tell me, eventually.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

This is pretty similar to at least part of the answer to question 2, but the catalyst as I remember it was a conversation over some time with some fellow writers that ended up as a sort of challenge.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Even though it’s still not done, it’s already the longest single piece I’ve ever written, and it’s my first shot at a quasi-romantic ménage.

Here are the next authors on the Hop,  joining me by blogging, next Wednesday. Be sure to bookmark and add them to your calendars for updates on WIPs and New Releases! Happy Writing and Reading!

Michelle Merlin: http://michbek.com/

Penny Madeline: http://thenestofspittle.blogspot.com/

Latest Comments

  1. ewoman88 says:

    Loved the bits I’ve already read, so glad to hear you’re working on more :D

Share your thoughts.

